February 10, 2012

Five Southern States Awarded NCLB Waivers

In an announcement February 9, President Barack Obama awarded 10 states—five from the South (Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Oklahoma, and Tennessee)—waivers from the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). The states will receive relief from requirements in the law in exchange for implementing reforms around standards, teacher effectiveness and accountability. More information is available here.