Selected SLC Research
Policy Analysis | July 1, 2014
Which SLC states offer in-state tuition to veterans?
Further notes on the legend:
Blue - States that meet all the following criteria:
1. State law or state school system provides student veterans an exemption from in-state residency requirements for the purposes of tuition and fees;
2. The exemption applies to all state public schools (2-year and 4-year); and
3. The law can be referenced and read easily.
Tan - States that have introduced legislation in their current legislative session that addresses the "Blue State" criteria.
Grey - States where there is no state law that exempts the residency requirements for student veterans, however, a state school system or individual schools within the state have an established policy exempting student veterans. Or, there are further specific criteria that student veterans need to meet to receive the exemption.
Georgia - University System of Georgia has a policy allowing out-of-state tuition differential waivers and assess in-state tuition to any member of a uniformed military service of the United States who, within 12 months of separation from such service, enroll in an academic program and demonstrate an intent to become domiciled in Georgia. This waiver may also be granted to their spouses and dependent children.
Kentucky - The governing board of a Kentucky public university may adopt a tuition policy whereby any veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States or National Guard who is eligible for Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits who enrolls as a student in the university as a non-Kentucky resident is charged no more than the maximum tuition reimbursement provided under the Post-9/11 GI Bill to public universities for eligible Kentucky residents.
Mississippi - Institute of Higher Learning policy provides and exemption to veterans who meet the following criteria: (1) The nonresident student was born in the state of Mississippi but subsequently relocated and resided outside the state as a minor under the care of the minor’s father or mother, or both. (2) Veteran served in armed forces. (3) Student is domiciled in Mississippi no later than six months after the nonresident student’s separation from service.
Student Veterans of America (accessed April 2, 2014)