[an error occurred while processing this directive]


  • » SLC Rules require that all proposed policy positions be submitted a minimum of 21 calendar days in advance of the Annual Meeting.  For 2011, all proposed policy positions must be received in the Atlanta office by June 25.
  • » All publicized SLC committee sessions are open to all conferees regardless of formal committee appointments or affiliations. Committee meetings and substantive sessions will be held on the Mezzanine level of The Peabody Memphis.
  • » Dress for committee meetings is business casual.  Dress for family and spouse activities is casual unless otherwise indicated.  Dress for the State Dinner is business formal.








8:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.

Committee Breakfast


School Choice: Policy Options and Recent Research

The school choice movement has marked significant milestones recently, with increasing support for charter schools and open choice options for students. Many of the concepts central to education reform today have roots in the school choice movement. This discussion provides an overview of the current situation in school choice as well as a review of what is known—and unknown—about the success of charter schools and school choice on improving educational outcomes for all students.

Margaret Raymond, Director, Center for Research on Educational Outcomes, Stanford University, California

Marissa Canatta, Associate Director, National Center on School Choice, Vanderbilt University


2:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Committee Program


Michelle Rhee: Putting Students First

Michelle Rhee is among America’s most noted voices on education reform. The reforms that Rhee instituted while chancellor of the District of Columbia Schools have been copied across the country as school systems seek options to improve student outcomes and school performance. In 2010, Rhee founded StudentsFirst to build a national movement to promote education reform.

Michelle Rhee, Founder and CEO, StudentsFirst, Washington, D.C.


Southern Legislative Conference and SLC are trademarks registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.