The Council of State Governments
CSG East | CSG Midwest | CSG West
Federal Affairs | Justice Center | Affiliates

Sign up for our emails!

SLC Standing Committee Structure

The SLC’s mission is to foster and encourage intergovernmental cooperation among its 15-member states. In large measure this is achieved through the meetings, publications and policy positions of the Conference’s six standing committees. Committee members are appointed by their chamber’s legislative leadership and each committee elects its own officers. Through the deliberations of Committee members, the issues facing all Southern state legislatures are considered.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee serves as SLC’s governing board and consists of each state’s presiding and appointing authority, their respective House and Senate appointees, and all past chairs of the Conference still serving in the legislature. The Executive Committee reviews, periodically, the work of the standing committees to determine the usefulness and function of each. It also serves in an oversight capacity of the resources and assets of the organization.

Southern Legislative Conference and SLC are trademarks registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.